Just a nurse – and that’s okay. 

Within my mere six months of being a float pool nurse at the Level One Trauma Center of Denver, a large public teaching hospital, I have seen and done a lot. I appreciate little blogs like the one attached, for they seem to help explain my job to the public when I can’t always find the words to do so. In nursing school, we were educated and prepared for all of the roles we would be responsible for. We knew that within the role of a nurse came many other job descriptions. However, I still find myself saying “I’m just a nurse.” And maybe that’s okay…because I think it is naturally the disposition of nurses that make us want to be more, do more, for every patient and family member we encounter. We are constantly humbled with every shift – for we are honored to have the responsibility of caring for you. As the number one trusted professional, I don’t think I want to be more than “just a nurse” because that in itself is already plenty. 🙂

http://www.kevinmd.com/blog/2016/05/not-everyone-can-nurse.html

Leave a Reply

